Board of Ethics

The Board of Ethics administers the Town's Code of Ethics. The Board consists of five Town of Bel Air residents, not less than 21 years of age, who are appointed by the Board of Town Commissioners of Bel Air. Members serve staggered four-year terms and may be removed only for cause. No member of the Board may otherwise be an official or employee of the Town of Bel Air, nor shall any member receive compensation.

The Board of Ethics is authorized to receive written disqualifications from officials and employees who are abstaining from potential conflicts of interest, conduct investigations upon conflicts of interest and complaints and render advisory opinions to the Town Commissioners, appointed Town officials, employees and candidates for office.

Meeting Schedule

The Board of Ethics meets as necessary, at least once a year, to complete the Maryland State Ethics Commission Local Government Ethics Law Annual Certification.

Agendas & Minutes

Meeting agendas and minutes for the Board of Ethics and all Town boards, committees and commissions are published on the Agenda Center page of the Town website.

Current Board Members

  • Wilbur W. Bolton III-Chair (Term Expires 5/3/2025)
  • Shelley Dolan (Term Expires 9/8/2024)
  • Theresa Rose (Term Expires 5/3/2025)
  • Susan Niewenhous (Term Expires 7/19/2025)
  • Vacant

Individuals interested in serving on the ethics board may complete an application and return it to the Town Clerk at Bel Air Town Hall, 39 N. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, MD 21014 or send it via email to


Rules of Procedure

The Board of Ethics developed procedures for advisory opinion requests and provides published advisory opinions to persons subject to the Code of Ethics regarding the applicability of the provisions of the Code to them. The Board also developed procedures for the processing of complaints to make appropriate determinations regarding complaints filed by any person alleging violations of the Code of Ethics.

Discussion of advisory opinions are exempted from the Maryland Open Meetings Act and are not open to the public. The Maryland Open Meetings Act does not apply to hearings on complaints pursuant to Maryland Code General Provisions Section 3-103(a) (1) (iii) and are not open to the public.


Staff support is provided by the Town Clerk; questions, disclosures, requests, or complaint forms may be directed to: Michael L. Krantz, Director of HR & Administration/Town Clerk at Town of Bel Air, Department of Administration, 39 N. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, MD 21014, by phone at 410-638-4550, or via email at